Empathic Urbanite

social business for urban development

Tongue piercing helps paralysed patients drive wheelchairs

Check this out – I know it’s nearly the end of the year, but I think this is one of the best things I’ve heard all year. Science rules again!

Jason Disanto pilots a wheelchair using the tongue drive system

Earlier this year, I remember talking to someone in the social care sector , who’d been a social care professional for 25 years, but was freaked out by my excitement about mind controlled machines. She thought it was wrong and unnatural. I didn’t want to say that helping most people with disabilities to live is unnatural. That using wheelchairs and peg-feeding and hoists and come to think of it, shoes and clothes, is unnatural. Oh, and she was using a computer and a phone and I guess she didn’t walk 10 miles to work every day.

I guess that’s why I love this story about how science is beating nature yet again. Mainly because it’s literally people with disabilities sticking our tongues out at social care professionals who have yet to embrace what science and technology can do for us. That is a very poor pun and I apologise, but it was hard to resist. Read the full article at the link below.

Tongue piercing helps paralysed patients drive wheelchairs | Society | theguardian.com.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2013 by in Uncategorized.
